Agenda

Training Meeting # 4, February 6, 2025
Location: West Valley HS, Room 1101

1. Announcements
There is a WA State House Bill (HB 1085), sponsored by local District 4 House Rep Suzanne Schmidt, and companion
WA State Senate Bill (SB 5272) that addresses school safety with expanded crimes and penalties to those found
responsible for interference by force, violence, intimidation, threats to not only school employees but also to officials of
extracurricular athletic activities, both elementary and secondary schools.

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1085&Year=2025&Initiative=False

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary/?BillNumber=5272&Chamber=Senate&Year=2025

2. Working the Plate

a.

® o0 o

3. Rules
a.
b.

Positioning/Attacking the slot-Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9LV|H5 zoE
(4:00)
Umpiring 101Video: Calling Balls & Strikes (8:04)
Plays at the Plate-Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0S pTprOgo (3:19)
Plate Meetings: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=]Qv38uBxm64 (8:00)
I.L.C.L.E.G.S:
i. Introductions

ii. “Is there a Concussion trained health professional on site?” (yes/no)

iii.  Confirm Lineups (straight 9, DH, Player/DH, or EH), numbers, names, positions, etc.

iv. “Coach, is your team legally and properly Equipped?”” (Requires verbal assent)

V. “Ground Rules: “Coach, please take us around.”

vi. Sportsmanship & Site Administration “Is there a site administrator on site?”

Hit by Pitch: See Handout on following pages
Interference: Special Cases
i. Batter’s Interference-Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haKbGATRMsQ
(17.40)
ii. Catcher’s Interference/Obstruction-Video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OwACCuUWGDs (14.29)

iii. Umpire Interference Rule 2-21-2: It is umpire interference when the umpire
inadvertently moves so as to hinder a catcher’s attempt to throw, or when a fair batted
ball touches an umpire (immediate dead ball, batter awarded 1%, runner’s advance one
base if forced), or when a pitch or thrown ball lodges in umpire’s uniform/equipment (see
lodged ball award.)

1. Batted Ball hits Base Umpire before a fielder-Immediate Dead Ball
2. Thrown Ball-No interference unless ball is lodged in umpire’s gear
3. Plate Umpire Interference-Delayed Dead Ball

iv. Spectator/Coach Interference: Often when a player in the dugout or on-field coach
interferes with a defensive player making a play on a fly foul ball. (Batter is out, runners
return to last occupied base at the time of pitch.)

4. New Umpires Check-In


https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1085&Year=2025&Initiative=False
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary/?BillNumber=5272&Chamber=Senate&Year=2025
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s9LVjH5_zoE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0S_pTprOqo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQv38uBxm64
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haKbGATRMsQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwACCuUWGDs

Improvement

Leading to

Excellence

“FEEDBACK IS THE BREAKFAST OF CHAMPIONS”

What are the evaluators looking for when you are working the plate?

Stability of head and body positioning (slot): Does the umpire position themselves in the slot,
assume the crouched position at the proper time and at the appropriate head height, and track the
incoming pitch with their eyes while maintaining a stable head and body

Strike zone judgement, consistency and accuracy: Is the strike zone appropriate for the level of
competition? Is the strike zone accurate and consistent?

Timing and volume of calling balls & strikes: Does the umpire demonstrate “proper use of eyes”
in the timing of calls, and with a mechanic and volume that clearly indicates a ball or strike?

Pre-pitch communications with partner: Does the umpire give the count (as appropriate for the
situation), number of outs, rotations, infield fly/double tag, or timing play for each new batter or
situation?

Putting the ball in play: Does the umpire consistently put the ball back in play after every dead
ball/time out (foul, hit by pitch, balks, etc.)?

Proper positioning for plays/rotations: Does the umpire open the gate on passed balls, clear the
catcher, move to the line for fouls or plays at first, rotate correctly when situation indicates, and in
the correct position for plays at the plate?

Situational communications with partner: Examples: “I’ve got 3rd if he goes.” I’ve got the
line.” (On potential fouls/trouble balls to right field.) “I’'m going home.”

Touch, tag-up and fly ball coverage responsibilities: Does the umpire position him/herself
properly to see touches, tag-ups? Does the umpire understand fly-ball coverages and when there is
a relinquishment of coverage?



Hit by Pitch Rule 8-1-d: A batter becomes a runner with the right to advance to first base when a pitched ball hits the
batter or the batter’s clothing, provided the batter does not strike at the ball; or

1. If the batter permits the pitched ball to touch oneself, or if the umpire calls the pitched ball a strike, the hitting
of the batter is disregarded except that the ball is dead. It is a strike or ball depending on the location of the
pitch.

2. If a batter’s garment, such as a shirt (i.e., not tucked in), or wristband that is not worn properly (i.e., on the belt)
is touched by a pitched ball, the batter is not entitled to first base.

3. Note: Assliding mitt or batting glove worn in the back pocket of the uniform is considered to be part of the
uniform and being worn properly.

Hit by Pitch Quiz:

When a pitch hits a batter, the ball is declared dead....

a. Immediately.
b. After all other possible plays (i.e., steals, rundowns, etc.) have been completed.

Preventative umpiring would suggest which of the following?
_____a.Askall players to have their shirts tucked in.
_____ b.Tell a player to take their sliding mitt out of their back pocket.
_____c. Remind players and coaches that wristbands must be worn on the forearm only.
In which of the following situations is, or is not, a batter awarded 1°* base? (Y or N)
_____a. The pitch hits the hitter’s hand before hitting the bat and the batter did not swing.
_____b. The pitch hits the hitter’s hand as the batter is swinging at the pitch.
_____c. The pitch hits the batter’s hand while the batter attempts a checked swing.
_____d. The pitch hits the batter’s hand during a checked swing.
Which of the following situations erases the batter’s entitlement to first base.
_____a.The pitch hits the ground before hitting the batter.
_____b. The pitch deflects off the catcher or umpire before hitting the batter.
_____c. The pitch deflects off the backstop before hitting the batter.
In which of these situations is the ball immediately dead, or remain live (D or L)
_____a.The pitch hits the ground before hitting the batter.
_____b. The pitch deflects off the catcher or umpire before hitting the batter.
_____c. The pitch deflects off the backstop before hitting the batter.

d. The pitch hits the batter during a batter’s attempted check swing.



Batter’s Interference Rule 7-3-5: Batter’s interference occurs when the batter interferes with the catcher’s fielding or
throwing by:

a. Leaning over home plate,

b. Stepping out of the batter’s box,
Making any other movement, including follow through interference, which hinders actions at home plate or the
catcher’s attempt to make a play on a runner, or

d. Failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate a congested area when there is a throw to home plate and there is
time for the batter to move away.

PENALTY: When there are two outs, the batter is out. When there are not two outs and the runner is advancing to
home plate, if the runner is tagged out, the ball remains live and the interference is ignored. Otherwise, the ball is
dead and the runner is called out. When an attempt to put out a runner at any other base is unsuccessful, the batter is
out and all runners must return to the bases occupied at the time of pitch. If the pitch is a third strike, and in the
umpires’ judgement interference prevents a possible double play (additional outs), two may be ruled out.

Note: Batter’s interference is generally a “delayed dead ball.”

Batter’s Interference Quiz

With one out, R2 attempts to steal 3™. B2 steps across home plate to hinder F2 who is attempting to throw to 3.
Which of the following is true or false (T or F). (Case Play 7-3-5-A)

a. R2 is tagged out despite the hindrance and the interference is ignored and the ball remains live.
b. B2 is called out immediately (before any is tag is made at 3) for interference and R2 is returned to 2" base.

c. R2 is tagged not tagged out, B2 is declared out for interference, time is called and all runners are returned to the
base occupied at the time of the pitch.

B1 is up to bat (no outs, bases unoccupied) with a 3-2 count. B1 swings and misses at the pitch and contact’s the
catcher with his follow through. The result of the contact causes F2 to drop the ball. B1 runs to first base, beats the
throw, and is safe. What is the correct ruling? (Case Play 7-3-5-C)

a. B1 is safe because of the uncaught 3" strike.
b. Bl is called out for interference.

With no outs and runners on 1% and 3", R1 attempts to steal second. While swinging at the pitch B1 steps over the
plate, interfering with F2. However, F2’s throw is in time to retire R1. On the play, R3 scores. What is the correct
ruling? (Case Play 7-3-5-H)

a. Since B1 interfered, the batter is called out for interference and R3 is returned to 3™ base.

b. Since F2 was able to retire R1 at 2", the interference is ignored, the ball remains live and R3 run counts.

Answers to this week’s quizzes are on the final page of this packet.
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Determining whether a batter was hit by a pitch
can sometimes be a challenge for the plate umpire.
Sometimes an umpire will have to rely solely on
circumstantial evidence. Here are some of the criteria

and types of circumstantial evidence an umpire can use

to handle those situations:

* The batter’s reaction. If the batter grimaces in
pain immediately after the ball passes him, there is a
good chance he was hit. Most first reactions are honest.

* Sounds. Sometimes you hear a sound as the ball
passes the batter. If you hear a sound other than the

ball hitting or nicking the catcher’s glove or the bat, the

batter was probably hit.

* Location of the ball. If you have a fastball down
the middle of the batter’s box and you are in doubt as
to whether the pitch got a piece of the batter, give the
benefit of the doubt to the batter. Why? A pitched ball
belongs around the plate, not over the middle of the
batter’s box.

* Aball in the dirt. A ball in the dirt can be a
tough call because the plate umpire will be straight-
lined more on that play than any other. Adding to the

difficulty of the call will be the sound of the ball hitting

the ground directly before it may or may not have hit
the batter. If it looked like the batter was hit and he
tried to move, he was probably hit.

CLOSE
AT HAND

It is hoped umpires —
unlike the average coach,
fan, commentator and
even player — know that
the hands are not part of
the bat. If a pitch hits a
batter’s hand before hitting
the bat and the batter did
not swing, it is a hit batter.
If the batter swung at
the pitch — including an
attempted checked swing
— it is simply a swinging
strike. If the batter checks
his swing, the ruling is no
swing and he takes his base.

The challenge for
umpires is determining if a
hand or the bat was hit —
and perhaps in what order.
Umpires will have to use
all available information —
sound, batter’s reaction, etc.
— to render a decision.

OIRT AND
OEFLECTIONS

A pitch that hits in the dirt before touching
the batter does not change anything.
Coaches have been known to argue that the
ball hitting the ground erases the batter’s
entitlement. What does erase the claim to
first, though, is a pitch that deflects off the
catcher or umpire before it touches the batter.
In such a case, the ball remains live and in
play, runners may advance and the batter is
not entitled to any base. Interestingly, you
won't find that spelled out in any rulebook.




en a pitch hits a batter,

the plate umpire will
declare the ball dead, then
verbally award first base. It
is dangerous to point to first
base; it could be viewed as a
strike signal, or if the batter
checked his swing, the base
umpire could interpret the
pointing signal as a request
from the plate umpire to rule
on the checked swing.

If the pitch hits the batter
but the pitch results in a called
or swinging strike, the plate
umpire declares the ball dead,
then signals a strike. Some
umpires point toward the plate
and verbalize, “The batter does
not get first.” Another optional
mechanic approved in some
areas involves the plate umpire
indicating what part of the
batter’s body the pitch hit. For
instance, the umpire can tap his
own elbow while verbalizing,
“Got ‘em on the elbow.”
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It is important to observe
the batter’s reaction. Not every
batter reacts negatively to
being hit by a pitch. But since
too many players unschooled
in the finer points of baseball
become angry even when
plunked by an 0-2 changeup,
umpires need to work quickly
and head off problems before
they begin.

As the plate umpire,
prepare for the worst — the
batter charging the mound
— every time a batter gets
hit. After calling time and
awarding first base, step
quickly around the catcher
and jog up the baseline with
the batter for at least a few
strides. Watch the batter and
use your voice to ensure the
batter remains calm and heads
toward first. By positioning
yourself between the batter and
the pitcher, you can prevent
most volatile situations. W

FROZEN IN
PLACE

Certainly, no batter is allowed

to obtain first by moving into

a pitch, such as sticking out an

elbow. As a practice, umpires
will give leeway to a batter who
freezes on a pitch at him. Perhaps
the batter anticipated a breaking
ball, but there didn’t end up being

any “break” in the pitch.

If he couldn’t reasonably have
moved, he didn'’t really permit
the pitch to hit him.




uiz Answers

Hit by Pitch Quiz:

When a pitch hits a batter, the ball is declared dead....
__T__a.Immediately.
__F__b. After all other possible plays (i.e., steals, rundowns, etc.) have been completed.
Preventative umpiring would suggest which of the following?
__T__a.Askall players to have their shirts tucked in.
__F__b. Tell a player to take their sliding mitt out of their back pocket.
__T__c.Remind players and coaches that wristbands must be worn on the forearm only.
In which of the following situations is, or is not, a batter awarded 1 base? (Y or N)
__Y__a. The pitch hits the hitter’s hand before hitting the bat and the batter did not swing.
__N__ b. The pitch hits the hitter’s hand as the batter is swinging at the pitch.
__N__ c. The pitch hits the batter’s hand while the batter attempts a checked swing.
__Y__ d. The pitch hits the batter’s hand during a checked swing.
Which of the following situations erases the batter’s entitlement to first base.
__N__ a. The pitch hits the ground before hitting the batter.
__Y__ b. The pitch deflects off the catcher or umpire before hitting the batter.
__Y__c.The pitch deflects off the backstop before hitting the batter.
In which of these situations is the ball immediately dead, or remain live (D or L)
__D__a.The pitch hits the ground before hitting the batter.
__ L b. The pitch deflects off the catcher or umpire before hitting the batter.
__ L c.The pitch deflects off the backstop before hitting the batter.
L d. The pitch hits the batter during a batter’s attempted check swing.

Batter’s Interference Quiz

With one out, R2 attempts to steal 3™. B2 steps across home plate to hinder F2 who is attempting to
throw to 3. Which of the following is true or false (T or F). (Case Play 7-3-5-A)

__T__a.R2istagged out despite the hindrance and the interference is ignored and the ball remains live.
__F__b.B2is called out immediately (before any is tag is made at 3) for interference and R2 is
returned to 2" base.

__T__c.R2isnot tagged out, B2 is declared out for interference, time is called and all runners are
returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch.

B1 is up to bat (no outs, bases unoccupied) with a 3-2 count. B1 swings and misses at the pitch and
contact’s the catcher with his follow through. The result of the contact causes F2 to drop the ball. B1
runs to first base, beats the throw, and is called safe. What is the correct ruling? (Case Play 7-3-5-C)
__F__a.Blissafe because of the uncaught 3™ strike.

T b.B1lis called out for interference.

With no outs and runners on 1% and 3", R1 attempts to steal second. While swinging at the pitch B1
steps over the plate, interfering with F2. However, F2’s throw is in time to retire R1. On the play, R3
scores. What is the correct ruling? (Case Play 7-3-5-H)

__F__a.Since Bl interfered, the batter is called out for interference and R3 is returned to 3™ base.

__ T b.Since F2 was able to retire R1 at 2", the interference is ignored, the ball remains live and R3
run counts.
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